Public Affairs, The California State University

CSUCI’s Wm. Gregory Sawyer Confirmed as CSU Representative for California Student Aid Commission

Wm. Gregory Sawyer, Ph.D., vice president for student affairs at California State University Channel Islands (CSUCI), was confirmed today as the California State University representative on the California Student Aid Commission. With a central mission of making education beyond high school financially accessible to all Californians, the Commission provides financial aid policy analysis and leadership in partnership with California’s colleges, universities, financial institutions, and financial aid associations.

Sawyer has served as vice president for student affairs at CSUCI since 2001. During his time at the university, Sawyer has received numerous honors including recognition as the Most Distinguished Black Citizen by the Ventura County Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People in 2004, the Maximus Award as Outstanding Administrator of the Year at CSUCI (2005) and the American College Personnel Association Senior Practitioner of the Year (2007). In 2008, the CSU Board of Trustees and Chancellor Charles B. Reed recognized Sawyer as Outstanding Administrator of the Year with the prestigious Wang Family Excellence Award. In 2012, Sawyer was recognized by the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators as the recipient of the Scott Goodnight Award for outstanding performance as a vice president for student affairs.

Since its creation by the Legislature in 1955, the California Student Aid Commission has continued to operate as the principal state agency responsible for administering financial aid programs for students attending public and private universities, colleges, and vocational schools in California. The Commission consists of 15 appointed members. Eleven of the commissioners are appointed by the Governor and represent students, segments of the state’s higher education community, and the general public. The Chair of the Senate Rules Committee and the Speaker of the Assembly each appoint two members. Sawyer will serve as a commissioner until October, 2016.