Public Affairs, The California State University

Governor Announces Appointment of Faculty Member to CSU Board of Trustees

Governor Jerry Brown has announced the appointment of California State University, Northridge professor Steven Stepanek to the California State University Board of Trustees.

Stepanek has served as chair of the CSUN Computer Science Department since 1999 and professor since 1993. He has held multiple positions at the University since 1972, including academic consultant, operating systems analyst, lecturer and assistant, associate and full professor.  He is a product of the CSU having earned a Master of Science degree in computer science from CSUN.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance of the 23-campus system.  Under present law there are 25 Trustees (24 voting, one non-voting). Five Trustees are ex officio members: the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker of the Assembly, State Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Chancellor.

No Trustee, with the exception of the Chancellor and the Faculty Trustee, receives any salary for his or her service.

For more information about the appointment, please see the announcement from Governor Jerry Brown’s office: