The California State University

Entertainment Industry Initiative

Student in production studio


SFSU Alumni Win big at IAWTV Awards!

Two graduates of San Francisco State’s Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts Department (BECA) were honored at the International Academy of Web Television Awards in Las Vegas for their work. Dustin Toshiyuki and Haley Klarfeld were part of the team who created “Leap Year”, which took home to award for Best Drama.

The International Academy of Web Television Awards is the official web television industry awards celebration established for digital content creators, by digital content creators.  The 2nd Annual IAWTV Awards show was held January 8th in the Palazzo Theatre in the Palazzo Resort Hotel, during the 2013 International CES in Las Vegas.  The awards serve as a platform for members of the IAWTV to honor the best of their profession, foster collaboration with peers and industry luminaries and to support the IAWTV.

The gala event presents awards in 34 categories honoring the best in web television and talent, both in front of the cameras and behind-the-scenes.  Up to 1200 industry professionals, including producers, directors, talent, studios, networks, brands, and ad agencies, are expected to attend the awards show, which will also be webcast live.  The 2nd Annual Awards show was bigger and more important to the industry than ever, as web video is the hottest topic in the media world and the place audiences and brands want to be!  Proceeds raised from the show are used by the IAWTV for the betterment of the community by providing more member resources as well as professional development and education for professionals working in Web television.